Ready to Kill

Ready to Kill

Andrew Peterson

Science Fiction & Fantasy / Young Adult

Bestselling author Andrew Peterson is back with a heart-stopping fourth installment of his wildly popular Nathan McBride series. When a mysterious note referencing a top-secret US operation is tossed over the wall of the embassy in Nicaragua, Nathan McBride and his old pal Harv are called out of retirement by CIA Director Rebecca Cantrell and sent to Central America. Cantrell wants the situation resolved quickly and knows that Nathan is the man to do it; after all, he has a history with the place. The jungle he and Harv are about to land in is the same one that Nathan barely escaped with his life decades before, an ordeal that left him physically and psychologically scarred. To make it out alive a second time, Nathan will have to face down his own demons and square off with a ruthless killer who learned from the best, Nathan himself. **
Читать онлайн
  • 75
Come Back to Me

Come Back to Me

Mila Gray

Romance / New Adult / Contemporary

A breathtaking, scorchingly hot summer read for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Abbi Glines Come back to me. That was the very last thing I said to him.*Always. The very last thing he said to me.* Home on leave in sunny California, Marine and local lothario Kit Ryan finds himself dangerously drawn to his best friend's sister, Jessa - the one girl he can't have. But Kit's not about to let a few obstacles stand in his way and soon Jessa's falling for his irresistible charms. What starts out as a summer romance of secret hook-ups and magical first times quickly develops into a passionate love affair that turns both their worlds upside down. When summer's over and it's time for Kit to redeploy, neither Kit nor Jessa are ready to say goodbye. Jessa's finally following her dreams and Kit's discovered there's someone he'd sacrifice everything for. Jessa's prepared to wait for Kit no matter what. But when something more than distance and time rips them apart they're forced to decide whether what they have is really worth fighting for. A breathtaking, scorchingly hot story about love, friendship, family and finding your way back from the edge of heartbreak.
Читать онлайн
  • 78
Destiny's Captive

Destiny's Captive

Beverly Jenkins

Romance

In national bestselling author Beverly Jenkins' Destiny series, the Yates men play hard and live hard. And when they find that special woman, they fall hard . . .Noah Yates fully believes in the joys of a happy family and a good wife. But that's not the life for him. No, he would much rather sail the wild seas in search of adventure, not tied down. But then the unthinkable happens . . . he finds himself literally tied down. To a bed. By a woman.And Pilar isn't just an ordinary woman. She's descended from pirates. And after giving him one of the worst nights of his life, she steals his ship! Now Noah is on the hunt, and he'll stop at nothing to find this extraordinary woman . . . and make her his.
Читать онлайн
  • 135

Heart of Gold

Heart of Gold

Beverly Jenkins

Romance

NAACP nominee and bestselling author Beverly Jenkins returns to the charming town of Henry Adams, Kansas--a place that always feels like home--in this heartwarming story of family, friendship, and the surprises hidden in our lives.Henry Adams has had its fair share of drama ever since Bernadine Brown bought the town with her divorce settlement. Now just when things are starting to settle down, it's about to get crazy again . . .Cephas Patterson doesn't just want to be left alone--if you dare step onto his property, he'll meet you with a shotgun and a warning to stay away from his gold. He reminds Zoey of the lonely time she spent living on the streets, so she quietly begins leaving him small offerings. But then Cephas dies and leaves a saddlebag of gold--to Zoey.And that's not all. Zoey's parents are going through a trial separation, her former BFF Devon is giving her fits, and friend Crystal has run away from home. Then there's Bernadine's mean-spirited...
Читать онлайн
  • 135
Heavenly Hirani's School of Laughing Yoga

Heavenly Hirani's School of Laughing Yoga

Sarah-Kate Lynch

Literature & Fiction

A sparkling, moving, utterly charming new novel from the incomparable Sarah-Kate LynchAnnie Jordan never wanted to go to India: there were too many poor people and the wrong sorts of smells. But when she ends up there anyway, to her great surprise it's not the beggars that cling to her, it's the lessons in life - courtesy of Heavenly Hirani and her beachside laughing yoga.This endearing new novel by Sarah-Kate Lynch will reconfirm for her fans what a master she is of humour, exploring and understanding human experience and creating a vivid world around her utterly believable characters.
Читать онлайн
  • 48
Screw You Dolores

Screw You Dolores

Sarah-Kate Lynch

Literature & Fiction

A funny, touching, endearing romp towards happiness by one of New Zealand's best-loved writers.'In 1997 I wrote my first book about always being on a diet but never being thin. I wanted to call it Screw You Dolores after an anecdote that I felt summed up the attitude I wanted to promote, but my publisher at the time said it was too rude; that little old ladies might be too embarrassed to ask for it or booksellers might want to hide it in brown paper bags. 'In 2013 I wrote my twelfth book and called it Screw You, Dolores. It's about knowing when to do what someone tells you to do, and knowing when to tell them to stick it up their jacksie.'This first book in Sarah-Kate Lynch's Wicked Approach To ... series tackles the subject of happiness, and how and where to find it - especially when you hit that milestone birthday of 50. Just like its author, it's sharp, full of attitude, funny and sassy. Buy it for yourself or for a friend for a good giggle....
Читать онлайн
  • 135

Tapestry

Tapestry

Belva Plain

Fiction / Historical Fiction / Family Saga

Beginning in 1920, paralleling Hitler's rise to power, and encompassing World War II, Bleva Plain's new novel weaves the threads of history into a brilliant tapestry. As vivid events plunge the world into a dizzying vortex of change, an unforgettable American Family must summon up extraordinary courage to face birth, death, murder, illicit passion, and a great tragedy... and one passionate man must fight his own war against evil--a war that can be won only with honor, integrity, and love.
Читать онлайн
  • 125
Treasures

Treasures

Belva Plain

Fiction / Historical Fiction / Family Saga

A story of family... the Osbornes -- two sisters and a brother -- united by family ties but split apart by different dreams. Lara, the happy young wife, longs for the family that will make her life whole. Connie, wild and lovely, is more like her brother Eddy -- bright, ambitious, and ready to seize all that life has to offer. A story of choices... Connie is looking for wealth -- to make or to marry. Lara, staying behind in a small Ohio town, finds everything she cherishes threatened by fate and by her own blind commitment. And Eddy, as Wall Street's "wonder boy," can make millions... if he ruthlessly uses his family and friends. A story of marriages... Lara's held together by devotion, Connie's shattered by infidelity and betrayal, and Eddy's rocked by shame and prison. Torn by conflicting loyalties, they are a family caught in the tides of scandal... and swept toward a fate where dreams may end or be born again...
Читать онлайн
  • 113

Raging Heat

Raging Heat

Richard Castle

Mystery & Thrillers

In New York Times Bestselling author Richard Castle's newest novel, an illegal immigrant falls from the sky and NYPD Homicide Detective Nikki Heat's investigation into his death quickly captures the imagination of her boyfriend the Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, Jameson Rook. When he decides to work the case with Heat as his next big story, Nikki is at first happy to have him ride along. Yes, she must endure Rook's usual wild conspiracy speculations and adolescent wisecracks, but after reuniting following his recent assignment abroad, she's glad for the entertainment, the chance to bounce ideas, and just to be close to him again and feel the old spark rekindle. But when Rook's inquiry concludes that Detective Heat has arrested the wrong man for the murder, everything changes. Balancing her high stakes job with a complicated romance has been a challenge ever since Nikki fell for the famous reporter. Now, her relationship lurches from mere complexity into sharp conflict over the most high-risk case of her career. Set against the raging force of Hurricane Sandy as it pounds New York, Heat battles an ambitious powerbroker, fights a platoon of urban mercenaries, and clashes with the man she loves. Detective Heat knows her job is to solve murders. She just worries that solving this one will be the death of her relationship. **
Читать онлайн
  • 112
Whispers

Whispers

Belva Plain

Fiction / Historical Fiction / Family Saga

Robert and Lynn Ferguson are a picture-perfect couple with two beautiful daughters and a lovely home in an exclusive Connecticut community. Robert is on the fast track of a major corporation. Lynn is devoted to her family and good works. But in the Ferguson's closed doors hide a painful secret Lynn must keep from the world-and her children-at any cost... Not even the Fergusons's best friends, Josie and Bruce Lehman, know of Lynn's shame. Social worker Josie sees her bruises distrusts the too-ambitious, too perfect Robert, and suspects the real cause of the children's increasingly disturbed behavior. But not even Josie can pierce Lynn's wall of silence, a wall that will not crumble until Lynn is forced to face herself-and the truth-at last. Belva Plain's searing novel of a family's heartbreak, a woman's courage, and a subject too often talked about only in whispers.
Читать онлайн
  • 147