Finding Paris

Finding Paris

Joy Preble

Young Adult / Fantasy / Historical

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble's stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other's lives.Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can't trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who's moved them all to Las Vegas. It's just the two of them: Paris, who's always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn't going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue....
Читать онлайн
  • 78

Redemption

Redemption

Anne Osterlund

Young Adult / Science Fiction & Fantasy / Contemporary

An epic journey of royalty, sacrifice, and revolution. Aurelia, former crown princess of Tyralt, has cobbled together a new life in exile with Robert, the young countryman who is still waiting for her to return his declaration of love. In the Outer Realms, they have found safety, but their homeland has not. Tyralt is under attack. When a friend from the past arrives to persuade Aurelia to rescue her country, she and Robert must weigh the hopes of a kingdom against their own failures, nightmares, and self-doubt. They decide to return. To defy both the king who is trying to steal their homeland and the usurping monarch who has always wanted Aurelia’s death. But Aurelia and Robert know they are sacrificing far more than their own lives. If they make the wrong choice, with the freedom of an entire nation at stake, they may not find redemption.
Читать онлайн
  • 64
A Stranger in My Own Country

A Stranger in My Own Country

Hans Fallada

Fiction / Humor and Comedy

‘I lived the same life as everyone else, the life of ordinary people, the masses.’ Sitting in a prison cell in the autumn of 1944, Hans Fallada sums up his life under the National Socialist dictatorship, the time of ‘inward emigration’. Under conditions of close confinement, in constant fear of discovery, he writes himself free from the nightmare of the Nazi years. His frank and sometimes provocative memoirs were thought for many years to have been lost. They are published here in English for the first time. The confessional mode did not come naturally to Fallada the writer of fiction, but in the mental and emotional distress of 1944, self-reflection became a survival strategy. In the ‘house of the dead’ he exacts his political revenge on paper. ‘I know that I am crazy. I’m risking not only my own life,...The EPUB format of this title may not be compatible for use on all handheld devices.
Читать онлайн
  • 66
More Than Famous (Famous #2)

More Than Famous (Famous #2)

Kahlen Aymes

Romance / Fiction / Contemporary

LIMITED TIME RELEASE PRICE OF $3.99 (Reg. $4.99) USA Today and internationally bestselling author, Kahlen Aymes, brings you the second in the sexy Famous Novel Series! Being a big star has its perks, but Caden Carlisle is in love with his costar, Brooklyn Halloway, and the movie studio demands that they keep it under wraps to ensure big box office success. Cade always disliked the spotlight, preferring to focus on the work, but coupled with the ruthless stalking of rabid paparazzi, the secrecy forced upon his new and fragile relationship, and the vindictive games of others, celebrity status turns into a curse. Can the roller coaster of emotions bring them closer still, or will jealousy and distance rip them apart forever? Kahlen Aymes turns up the heat and cranks up the angst in FAMOUS Novel Two; the continuation of Cade and Brook's incredible love story... Because there's more to fame than meets the eye. ***The Famous Novels are Contemporary New Adult Romance and due to strong language and sexual content this series is not recommended for readers under the age of 18.) Famous Novel Three, Beyond Famous, is coming before the end of 2015.**
Читать онлайн
  • 108

Beyond Famous (Famous #3)

Beyond Famous (Famous #3)

Kahlen Aymes

Romance / Fiction / Contemporary

Cade Carlisle and Brooklyn Halloway may be Hollywood’s IT couple, but their feelings are the real deal. They should have a perfect life, but if shooting films on opposite sides of the world and constantly being stalked by the paparazzi wasn’t hard enough, the movie studio’s ruthless publicity machine is on the verge of ripping the lovers apart. With Social media invading their private life faster than they can cross the street, rag mags spinning lie after lie, and ex-lovers trying to push them apart, it gets harder and harder and harder for Cade and Brook to keep their focus each other and not keep doubt and jealousy at bay. When a ruse set up to promote one of their films goes wrong, Cade decides he’s had enough and nothing, not even his superstar career, is worth losing the woman he loves. But Brook’s star is on the rise and she isn’t ready to risk her momentum in the industry by bringing their relationship out in the open despite their contracts. For the first time, their priorities collide. In another of Kahlen Aymes’ heart-wrenching, explosive and sexy conclusions, Cade and Brook have to decide if having it all is worth losing everything. This is book #3 (conclusion) of The Famous Novel Series. The start to the series, FAMOUS is FREE! You can meet Cade & Brook with no strings attached! Cade is irresistible!**
Читать онлайн
  • 147
Famous (Famous #1)

Famous (Famous #1)

Kahlen Aymes

Romance / Fiction / Contemporary

Caden Carlisle is a world-renowned superstar with good looks, million dollar movie deals and women throwing themselves at him wherever he goes. He has it all… but wants nothing more than a normal life without the paparazzi and glitz. Brooklyn Holloway is an up and coming starlet with a solid head on her shoulders and her eyes wide open. It’s all about art for her and she isn’t looking to star in blockbuster films. She’s perfectly happy keeping a low profile and doing indie projects with a message. When fate throws the two of them together on set; both are unprepared for their undeniable connection. Cade is drawn to Brook’s down-to-earth wholesomeness and she can’t help the irresistible pull of his good looks, sense of humor and chivalrous ways... So, when he begins to think he’s in love with her, resisting is next to impossible, despite being committed to someone else. Only when filming ends and the world's fascination with celebrity invades their bubble, can they decide if the emotions they felt on set were scripted, or forever.
Читать онлайн
  • 77
Emma Frost Mystery Series Vol 7-9

Emma Frost Mystery Series Vol 7-9

Willow Rose

Mystery / Romantic Suspense / Thriller

This Volume IncludesEASY AS ONE TWO THREE: Mads and Signe are very young when they get married. They are ready to take on the world starting with their honeymoon to Egypt. Two years later, Mads is in a coma and Signe has vanished from the face of the earth. Meanwhile, Emma Frost is looking for her daughter whom the police believe is guilty of the hit and run that left Mads Schou brain dead. But was it really an accident, or is there more to the story than they first thought? Emma believes so, but can't convince the police. To help her, Emma receives help from a couple many of Willow Rose's readers will recognize. THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE HOME: What is the worst that can happen? Maria and Jonas Boegh asked themselves that very question when deciding to sign the papers for their new house. It might be expensive. They might be in over their heads a little financially, but they were never happier than on the day they moved in. Everything was perfect. It was the house of their dreams. They had their entire life ahead of them. They were untouchable. When the couple's bodies are found the very next morning by their next-door neighbor, Emma Frost, a series of strange things start to happen on the small Danish island. More people are killed, and soon, Emma is chasing a serial killer about whom she only knows one thing. He's obsessed with the old classic movie, The Wizard of Oz. There's No Place Like Home is the eighth installment in Willow Rose's popular mystery series about the author Emma Frost and her friends and family on Fanoe Island. SLENDERMAN: Ever Heard of Slenderman? They say he is always there. They say he is always watching. A tall guy in a suit and tie, with no face, and arms like tentacles. Some say he is an online myth; others will go very far to prove he is real, so far that they might even kill for him. Fanoe Island is busy with the mayoral election coming up, when suddenly, the sitting mayor is found killed. Rumors tell that a faceless man dressed in a suit and tie did it. In Emma Frost's house that she inherited from her grandmother, a box of letters is found that tells a story from a long time ago. A terrifying story revealing a painful chapter in the life of her own family half a century ago. Slender Man is a spine-chilling mystery from the bestselling author Willow Rose. It is the ninth in her Emma Frost-series.**
Читать онлайн
  • 96

The Conversations At Curlew Creek

The Conversations At Curlew Creek

David Malouf

Literature & Fiction

The year is 1827, and in a remote hut on the high plains of New South Wales, two strangers spend the night in talk. One, Carney, an illiterate Irishman, ex-convict and bushranger, is to be hanged at dawn. The other, Adair, also Irish, is the police officer who has been sent to supervise the hanging. As the night wears on, the two discover unexpected connections between their lives, and learn new truths. Outside the hut, Adair's troopers sit uneasily, reflecting on their own pasts and futures, waiting for the morning to come. With ironic humour and in prose of starkly evocative power, the novel moves between Australia and Ireland to explore questions of nature and justice, reason and un-reason, the workings of fate, and the small measure of freedom a man may claim in the face of death. A new novel by Malouf is a major event; The Conversations At Curlow Creek will confirm him as one of the greatest novelists of our time.
Читать онлайн
  • 55
Being There

Being There

David Malouf

Literature & Fiction

Words, music, art and performance. The stuff of a satisfying life.After exploring the idea of home, where and what it is in A First Place, what does it mean to be a writer and where writing begins in The Writing Life, David Malouf moves on to words and music and art and performance in Being There. With pieces on the Sydney Opera House - then and now - responses to art, artists and architects, and including Malouf's not previously published libretti for Voss and a translation of Hippolytus, this is an unmissable and stimulating collection of one man's connection to the world of art, ideas and culture.
Читать онлайн
  • 114